Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

November 2, 2011

2 tablespoons peanut oil (I had sesame seed oil on hand so I used that)

3 cloves of garlic

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

1 bunch of green onions chopped

1 onion thinly sliced and chopped

1 tsp salt

1 pound boneless skinless chicken

1 cup chicken broth

2 tbl soy sauce

2 tbl sugar (I did one white, one brown)

2 tbl cornstarch

Heat peanut oil in wok or skillet. When oil begins to smoke quickly stir in 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp of ginger, salt and yellow onions. Stir fry until onion becomes translucent, about 2 minutes. Add chicken and stir until opaque, about three minutes. Add remaining clove of garlic and green onions. Stir in 1/2 cup of chicken broth.

I cooked 2 double batches of this meal to accommodate 4 families. On the first batch I for sure burned the garlic because I put it in first with the ginger instead of cooling the pan down with the onions. And I added both types of onions at the same time. The green onions wilted but the overall effect was a great caramelization and mixing of colors. This batch came out so much more beautiful and flavorful than the second where I followed the directions exactly. But I don’t know if I can replicate….

At this point I set the chicken mixture aside to cool, then I separated it into four ziplock bags.

I also provided 1 cup of jasmine rice

1/2 cup roasted and salted peanuts to go on top

Frozen Trader Joe’s Stir Fry Vegetables

AND

The soy sauce mixture from the remaining ingredients above.

In a small ziplock I combined:

2 tablespoons cornstarch

2 tablespoons soy sauce (I used Kikkoman)

2 tablespoons sugar (1 white, 1 brown)

1/2 cup chicken broth

Then I labeled this the “Soy Sauce Mixture”

On the day of serving I will defrost my chicken, rice and soy sauce mixture bag the night before but leave the Trader Joe veggies in the freezer.

At dinner time I’ll start the rice first. After the rice is simmering for 10 minutes I’ll heat my wok/skillet up and prepare 3/4 of the bag of Trader Joe’s stir fry veggies as directed. In a separate pan I’ll warm up the chicken and add the soy sauce mixture and heat until thickens then I’ll layer my stir fry with rice, veggies and chicken/sauce then sprinkle peanuts on top.

Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

